DIY Hand Warmers with Essential Oils

This morning I had a little extra time, so I decided to give the hand warmers a try that I had linked to in my last post. The doTERRA website has a wealth of DIY ideas and I really loved the idea of their recent post on hand warmers as we start to head toward winter (though it’s supposed to be over 70 degrees in Denver tomorrow!).

Here are step-by-step photos and details on my version of the hand warmers. I am so in love with these and can’t wait to use other oils and blends to make different types depending on my mood. I think they will be great for Emma too, especially for cold mornings in the car. These were super easy and did not take much time at all, which are my favorite types of sewing project 🙂

I chose some cute, cheery fabric from my stash. I love the Scandinavian farm one and the grey with the words was perfect for my plan to use doTERRA Cheer as my essential oil of choice today. The Cheer Blend is doTERRA’s Uplifting blend and smells so warm and delicious. I cut the fabric into 4″x4″ squares.

 

Next I placed the fabric right side to right side and sewed around all of the edges, leaving a small gap to allow for turning right side out and so that there was a hole to add the rice. I also stitched around the edges on the right side just because I like the look 🙂

Next I mixed 5 drops of Cheer essential oil to about 1 cup of rice, stirring it and letting it sit for a few minutes. After that I used a small funnel to fill the hand warmer about 3/4 full before sewing the hole closed.

IMG_0429

And here they are! I love them so much and can’t wait to try them out. The instructions said to heat them 30 seconds in the microwave, let sit for 30 seconds, and then put them in your pockets for warmth and to enjoy the benefits of the essential oil you chose. I’m excited to do some more using the doTERRA Serenity blend and the Holiday Joy. What other oils or scents would you be interested in?

If you have questions about doTERRA essential oils, don’t hesitate to contact me at myhybridlifeblog@gmail.com or visit my doTERRA website!

One thought on “DIY Hand Warmers with Essential Oils

Leave a comment