2 Days Until Thanksgiving

Ahhh, the teacher life. I saw a recent “On This Day” post on Facebook from 5 years ago where apparently I had nothing better to do over the Thanksgiving break than sit outside in the sunshine and drink a beer at 1:00 in the afternoon… My how the times have changed.

575218_10100223134658428_1773261816_n
November 2012 – Pre-child Thanksgiving Break

We have a whole week off this week and I have so much I would like to get done that I don’t even know where to begin. Here are the main things I would like to accomplish in the next 2 days while E is at preschool.

  1. Thanksgiving grocery shopping for our contributions for dinner at Mom and Dad’s.
  2. Make said contributions – stuffing, an autumn panzanella salad that we are trying to recreate from the amazing dinner we had on date night last week at Stoic & Genuine, and an apple pie.I will be making stuffing from a box because that’s actually my favorite kind of stuffing… it just reminds me of childhood Thanksgiving and it’s also super easy (win!).

    The panzanella salad will have rye bread croutons, roasted butternut squash, pears, carrots, goat cheese, and an apple cider vinaigrette.

    The apple pie is a long story… Steve committed to making a “pie in a pie”, a hilarious dessert that sounds exactly like its name that we made about a decade ago for a Friendsgiving. It is a peach pie baked inside a blackberry pie. However, it turns out that Steve doesn’t actually want to make the pie, he wants me to… so I’m voting for apple 🙂 My favorite go-to site for baking is Smitten Kitchen and she has an amazing apple pie recipe.

  3. Declutter the house because there is no three year old here to un-do everything I put away, get ALL the dishes, and ALL the laundry done (wish me luck).
  4. Create the visual schedule for Emma (and maybe Steve, ha!) that I talked about in my earlier post.
  5. Start sewing some DIY Aromatic Handwarmers that I saw in this post from doTERRA for holiday gifts for teachers, friends, and family. Super excited for these!

Like I said, there’s probably way more I could and should do… but I think the above are manageable. So… after one more cup of coffee, I think I’ll get started 😉

 

 

IMG_7963
Best coffee cup ever from my awesome sister-in-law!

One thought on “2 Days Until Thanksgiving

Leave a comment